Interaction Design Week Five Journal

Prototyping software is an incredibly powerful tool to help simulate how designs could look and act in a real-world scenario. It seems as though every day I learn about a new piece of software available to UXers to breathe life into their wireframes. Because it is familiar and well-integrated, Adobe’s Creative Suite is my standard go-to for this type of design work, and I believe their new Experience Design application shows great promise for designers. It makes it incredibly easy to iterate quickly, but it is missing some key functionality (no underlined text, no rollover/active states for symbols).

This assignment introduced me to proto.io, and I have to say that I am really impressed with the capabilities of the software. It’s even more impressive that all of these tools are available from an internet browser, accessible wherever a connection is available. While I am still learning the ins and outs, I cannot wait to take advantage of some of the advanced tools, such as working with variables.

Leave a Reply

